Header Gradient
About Us

Board of Directors

The Prevent Blindness Texas Board of Directors helps chart the agency’s course. They contribute a vast array of experience and skills that helps maintain our status as the state’s leading eye health and safety organization.

Executive Committee

Board Chair: Misha Syed, MD, MEHP
Vice Chair: Joan Wahlman
Vice Chair: Renee Rump
Treasurer: Andrea Sartin
Secretary: Eileen Bowden, MD

Board of Directors, (cont.)

Eileen Bowden, MD
Austin, Texas

Sai Chavala, MD
Fort Worth, Texas

Amy Chiconas
Houston, Texas

Janet Garza, OD 
Houston, Texas

John McMahan
Dallas, Texas

Rebekah Montes, OD
Houston, Texas

Claudia Prospero Ponce, MD
El Paso, Texas

Amelie Ramirez
San Antonio, Texas

Renee Rump
Dallas, Texas

Andrea Sartin
Dallas, Texas

Loren Sobel
Dallas, Texas

Misha Syed, MD
Galveston, Texas

Celina Villanueva, OD
Rio Grande Valley, Texas

Michael Vitale
Dallas, Texas

Joan Wahlman
Austin, Texas

Sharona Washington-Lockett, MBA
Houston, Texas